a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Armoniosa

 

ARMONIOSA

(Photo: Armoniosa)


The five-member ensemble around the brothers Stefano and Francesco Cerrato has made a name for itself far beyond historically informed circles. Founded in 2012 in the Piedmontese town of Asti, Armoniosa surprised on their debut album (mdg) with Vivaldi’s concert collection La Stravaganza, which, in the face of the enormous number of recordings, sounds “like a fruit from the various attempts, if not experiments, to interpret Vivaldi over the last twenty years” – a “fresh, powerful and stylistically completely convincing recording” (klassik.com). No less euphoric were the reactions to the following albums featuring trio sonatas by Italian composer Giovanni Benedetto Platti (mdg) and cello sonatas by Carlo Graziani (Rubicon Classics), which received top reviews for their repertoire value and extraordinary interpretation.

Now the five of them turn once more to the music of Antonio Vivaldi and let the style-forming Opus 3 L’estro armonico appear in a new old sound garb! Armoniosa harpsichordist Michele Barchi has revised the concert collection for the ensemble’s special instrumentation – violin, 5 strings cello ‘piccolo’, cello, organ and harpsichord. The result is an almost full orchestral sound that reaffirms the rich expressiveness of Vivaldi’s 12 Concerti. At the same time, Armoniosa’s approach enlivens not only the music, but also 18th-century transcription practice, which found a sheer inexhaustible source of creative exploration in Vivaldi’s concerts.

L’estro armonico was Vivaldi’s first concert release. In 1711 he had it printed in Amsterdam by the renowned publisher Estienne Roger and thus achieved European fame. With its musical quality of concertante energy and cantability as well as the style-forming model of a three-movement setting and ritornello form, the collection influenced the development of the solo concerto even north of the Alps like hardly any other work. On the flutist and composer Johann Joachim Quantz, they “made a not inconsiderable impression on me as an entirely new type of musical piece at the time”. The most prominent example of the effectiveness of the concertos are certainly Johann Sebastian Bach’s transcriptions for keyboard instruments and as a concerto for four harpsichords with orchestra. These also served as models for the transcriptions of this invigorating recording, which despite the arrangement – or precisely because of the sensitive handling of the model – can also be called ‘historically informed’.
www.armoniosa.net

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

May 30, 2019

a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Armoniosa

 

ARMONIOSA

(Photo: Armoniosa)


Das fünfköpfige Ensemble um die Brüder Stefano und Francesco Cerrato hat sich weit über historisch informierte Kreise hinaus einen gebührenden Namen gemacht. 2012 in der piemontischen Stadt Asti gegründet, überraschten Armoniosa auf ihrem Debüt-Album (mdg) mit Vivaldis Konzertsammlung La Stravaganza, die sich gegenüber der Unmenge von Einspielungen »wie eine Frucht aus den verschiedenen Versuchen, wenn nicht sogar Experimenten der letzten gut zwanzig Jahre, Vivaldi zu interpretieren, anhört« – eine »frische, kraftvolle und stilistisch vollkommen überzeugende Aufnahme« (klassik.com). Nicht weniger euphorisch waren die Reaktionen auf die Nachfolger mit Triosonaten des Italieners Giovanni Benedetto Platti (mdg) und Cellosonaten von Carlo Graziani (Rubicon Classics), welche für ihren Repertoirewert und der außerordentlichen Interpretation Bestnoten der Kritik erhielten.

Nun wenden sich die fünf ein weiteres Mal der Musik Antonio Vivaldis zu und lassen das stilbildende Opus 3 Lʼestro armonico im neuen alten Klanggewand erscheinen! Denn Armoniosa-Cembalist Michele Barchi hat die Konzertsammlung für die spezielle Besetzung des Ensembles – Geige, fünfsaitiges Cello ›piccolo‹, Cello, Orgel und Cembalo – überarbeitet. Das Ergebnis ist ein nahezu voller Orchesterklang, der die reiche Ausdruckskraft der 12 Concerti von Vivaldi aufs Neue belegt. Gleichzeitig belebt Armoniosa in diesem Vorgehen nicht nur die Musik, sondern auch die Bearbeitungspraxis des 18. Jahrhunderts, welche gerade in den Konzerten Vivaldis eine schier unerschöpfliche Quelle zur kreativen Auseinandersetzung fand.

Lʼestro armonico war Vivaldis erste Konzertveröffentlichung. 1711 ließ er sie in Amsterdam vom renommierten Verleger Estienne Roger publizieren und gelangte damit zu europäischem Ruhm. Mit ihrer musikalischen Qualität aus konzertanter Energie und Kantabilität sowie dem stilbildenden Modell der dreisätzigen Anlage und Ritornellform wirkte sich die Sammlung wie kaum ein anderes Werk auf die Entwicklung des Solokonzerts auch nördlich der Alpen aus. Auf den Flötisten und Komponisten Johann Joachim Quantz machten sie, »als eine damals gantz neue Art von musikalischen Stücken, bey mir einen nicht geringen Eindruck«. Prominentestes Beispiel für die Wirkungskraft der Konzerte sind sicherlich die Bearbeitungen Johann Sebastian Bachs für Tasteninstrumente und als Konzert für vier Cembali mit Orchester. Sie dienten auch als Vorlage für die Transkriptionen der vorliegenden, belebenden Einspielung, die sich trotz der Bearbeitung – oder gerade wegen des sensiblen Umgangs mit der Vorlage – auch ›historisch informiert‹ nennen darf.
www.armoniosa.net

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

Mai 30, 2019