a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Layla Ramezan

Layla Ramezan

(Foto: Layla Ramezan)

Layla Ramezan’s ambitious and prestigious project 100 Years of Iranian Piano Music enters its second round. Once again, the Iranian pianist pays tribute to a special repertoire that derives from the encounter and dialogue between East and West. The programmatic focus of this recording is the history of Sheherazade, which has been widely received in the Orient and Occident, presented as a form of musical reading with the eponymous piano cycle by Alireza Mashayekhi.

With 100 Years of Iranian Piano Music, Layla Ramezan not only brings to light the richness of Persian culture, but above all illustrates the strong connection between the Eastern and Western worlds, their mutual attraction and fascination, which has produced extraordinary music over a period of more than 100 years.

In January 2017, the first part of this four album CD project, Composers from the 1950’s, was released. The recording brings together various Iranian composers who received their training in the West and who, sometimes in radically different styles, are all carriers of a common musical tradition. The subject of the second part of the series is Alireza Mashayekhi’s piano cycle Sheherazade, Op. 115. Mashayekhi, born in 1940 in Tehran, is a pioneer of modern music in Iran. He was educated in his homeland, Vienna and Utrecht in traditional Persian as well as Western modern art music, among others by the Schönberg and Berg student Hanns Jelinek. His work combines many traditions and meets philosophical reflection. The Sheherazade cycle of 1992 is a masterpiece of Iranian piano music, inspired by the story of the Arabian Nights around King Schahriyar and the storyteller Schahrasad. Mashayekhi transfers the story to a psychological level and tells it from the perspective of the king. The music expresses the duality of the subject and his inner psychological struggle. Stylistically, Mashayekhi invents in Sheherazade a new system of harmonization of traditional Iranian music: on Persian melodies, which are largely monophonic in origin, he creates a complex polyphonic music with colours inspired by impressionistic and serial music as well as jazz.

Mashayekhi’s piano pieces are arranged around the reading of the story (an adaptation by the composer himself) and improvisations on Zarb and Santur. Therefor Layla Ramezan gets support from Djamchid and Keyvan Chemirani – both members of the brilliant family trio Chemirani of international renown in both the World music and Persian art music scene.
Like the project, Layla Ramezan’s life and musical activities are characterized by the intercultural connection between the Persian and Western worlds. She received her first piano lessons privately in Tehran before moving to France in 2000. She studied in Paris, Saint-Maur-des-Fossés and Lausanne. She is active worldwide as a concert pianist, plays in the contemporary music ensemble Matka and is engaged in numerous intercultural projects.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

May 30, 2019

a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Layla Ramezan

Layla Ramezan

(Foto: Layla Ramezan)

Layla Ramezans ambitioniertes wie prestigeträchtiges Projekt 100 Years of Iranian Piano Music geht in die zweite Runde. Erneut würdigt die iranische Pianistin ein besonderes Repertoire, das sich aus der Begegnung und dem Dialog zwischen Ost und West speist. Im programmatischen Zentrum dieser Einspielung steht die in Orient und Okzident vielfach rezipierte Geschichte um Sheherazade, präsentiert als eine Form musikalischer Lesung mit dem gleichnamigen Klavierzyklus von Alireza Mashayekhi.

Mit 100 Years of Iranian Piano Music bringt Layla Ramezan nicht nur den Reichtum der persischen Kultur zum Vorschein, sondern verdeutlicht vor allem die starke Verbindung zwischen der östlichen und westlichen Welt, ihre gegenseitige Anziehungskraft und Faszination, die in einem Zeitraum von über 100 Jahren außergewöhnliche Musik hervorgebracht hat.

Im Januar 2017 erschien mit Composers from the 1950‘s der erste Teil dieses vier Alben umspannenden CD-Projekts. Die Einspielung versammelt verschiedene iranische Komponisten, die ihre Ausbildung im Westen erhielten und, bei teils radikal unterschiedlicher Stile, alle Träger einer gemeinsamen Musiktradition sind. Gegenstand des zweiten Teils der Reihe ist Alireza Mashayekhis Klavierzyklus Sheherazade op. 115. Mashayekhi, 1940 in Teheran geboren, ist ein Pionier der modernen Musik im Iran. Er wurde in seiner Heimat, Wien und Utrecht sowohl in traditionell persischer als auch westlicher Kunstmusik der Moderne, u.a. beim Schönberg- und Berg-Schüler Hanns Jelinek, ausgebildet. In seinem Werk verbinden sich viele Traditionen und treffen auf philosophische Reflektion. Der Sheherazade-Zyklus von 1992 ist ein Meisterstück iranischer Klaviermusik, inspiriert von der Rahmenhandlung aus Tausendundeiner Nacht um den König Schahriyar und der Geschichtenerzählerin Schahrasad. Mashayekhi überträgt die Geschichte auf eine psychologische Ebene und erzählt sie aus der Perspektive des Königs. Die Musik drückt die Dualität des Subjekts und seinen inneren, psychologischen Kampf aus. Stilistisch erfindet Mashayekhi in Sheherazade ein neues System der Harmonisierung von traditioneller iranischer Musik: auf persischen Melodien, die ihren Ursprung nach weitgehend monophon sind, kreiert er eine komplexe polyphone Musik mit Farben, welche sowohl von impressionistischer und serieller Musik als auch vom Jazz inspiriert sind.

Mashayekhis Klavierstücke sind um die Lesung der Geschichte (einer Adaption, die vom Komponisten selbst stammt) sowie Improvisationen auf Zarb und Santur angeordnet. Dafür bekommt Layla Ramezan Unterstützung von Djamchid und Keyvan Chemirani – beides Mitglieder des brillanten Familien-Trios Chemirani von internationalem Renommee in der Welt- und persischen Kunstmusikszene.

Wie das Projekt, zeichnet sich auch Layla Ramezans Leben und musikalisches Wirken durch die interkulturelle Verbindung der persischen und westlichen Welt aus. Ihren ersten Klavierunterricht erhielt sie privat in Teheran, bevor sie 2000 nach Frankreich ging. Sie studierte in Paris, Saint-Maur-des-Fossés und Lausanne. Als Konzertpianistin ist sie weltweit aktiv, spielt darüber hinaus im zeitgenössischen Musikensemble Matka und engagiert sich in zahlreichen interkulturellen Projekten.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

Mai 30, 2019