a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra

Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra

(Photo: PR)

Friedrich Gulda ● Sergei Prokofiev ● Francis Poulenc

On this CD, the Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra and the pianist duo Mischa Cheung and Yulia Miloslavskaya, under the direction of Sergey Simakov, committed themselves to the works of composers that all share an extraordinary and intelligent musical humor: the “classical revolutionary” Friedrich Gulda, the sophisticated ironist Sergei Prokofiev, and the cosmopolitan French Neo-Classicist Francis Poulenc.

Friedrich Gulda hated nothing more than being reduced to specific roles. In his Concerto for Myself, the bizarre alternations between musical genres – serious and popular music, Viennese Classic, Baroque, Jazz – at times prompt the listener to laugh out loud. So much collides here which usually remains neatly separated in the well-ordered musical categories of the bourgeoisie. In one moment, a solid sonata-allegro form typical for the Viennese Classic drives the piece forward; next, percussion and electric bass guitar reminiscent of a rock band chime in vociferously. Out of these crossover references, Gulda webs a sprawling, yet artfully structured net. Finally, the solo cadenza returns to the function prescribed to it by Mozart: a field for free, improvisatory elaboration, in this case for soloist Mischa Cheung.

Sergei Prokofiev’s musical humor, as is well known, was born out of necessity. Under the repressive Soviet cultural policies, it was vital to cleverly “hide” aesthetic adventures. Prokofiev’s First Symphony, also called Symphonie Classique, does not clearly show any rebellion, however. Its essence, which the sharp-eared Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra brings to the surface on this CD, is first and foremost a love letter to the esprit of the 18th century, in which its creator, coming from the 20th century, includes a deeply personal diction. The new recording by the young Swiss Ensemble invites us to familiarize ourselves with the whole richness of Prokofiev’s First Symphony.

In the first half of the 20th century, bitter, aesthetic trench warfare was fought, but Francis Poulenc held to the belief that history is nothing we overcome, but rather something that presents a fertile ground for the new. It is hard to find a kaleidoscope of compositional, harmonic, and rhythmic finesse more light-footed than in his Concert for two Pianos. And the wide world resounds contemporaneously in the form of the Balinese Gamelan Ensemble.

Pianist Mischa Cheung brings plenty of open-mindedness to the theme of this CD. He is a member of the Gershwin Piano Quartet, which regularly tours the concert stages with a full four grand pianos at once. Cheung studied with Konstantin Scherbakov at the Zurich University of the Arts, has played with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2016, he developed the music for a dance performance by choreographer Alexandra Bachzetsis on behalf of the Museum of Modern Art, New York. He teaches at the Zurich University of the Arts and is assistant to Scherbakov’s Master Class. In 2019, the Swiss Canton of Basel-Land awarded him the Cultural Price for Music.

In Francis Poulenc’s double concerto, Yulia Miloslavskaya plays the first piano part. She studied at the Moscow Conservatory, then in Zurich, also with Scherbakov. Since then, she has been enriching the classical concert scene with her refreshing individuality. She is also a dedicated chamber musician, and collaborates frequently with Thomas Grossenbacher (violoncello), Martin Grubinger and Rainer Seegers (percussion), Ilya Gringolts, and Andreas Janke (violin).

The Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra was founded in Zurich in 2015 and impresses with its flexibility: depending on the occasion, the musicians play in different formations, from a quintet to a fourty-piece chamber orchestra. The young ensemble members are talented in a versatile repertoire from Baroque to modern music. And especially when it comes to lesser known musical works, a lot of individualism pervades the ensemble.

The director of this highly motivated ensemble, Sergey Simakov, has had an early start to his career. He was awarded the First Price at the International Conducting Competition Jeunesses Musicales Bucharest, has assisted with the Young German Philharmonics, and has worked as assistant to the chief conductor Daniel Raiskin at the Rhein Philharmonic Koblenz. In 2016, he took over the direction of the festival “Oper Oder-Spree”. In 2019, Sergey Simakov was guest conductor for the production of Gaetano Donizetti’s L’elisier d’amore at the State Theater Cottbus. His work has also led him to the conductor’s stand of the Stuttgart Philharmonics, the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, the North Netherlands Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra Philharmonique de Strasbourg, and the Komische Oper Leipzig. Since 2012, Sergey Simakov has been a scholarship holder of the Deutsches Dirigentenforum (German Forum of Conductors).

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

October 22, 2019

a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra

Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra

(Photo: PR)

Friedrich Gulda ● Sergei Prokofiev ● Francis Poulenc

Das Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra unter der Leitung von Sergey Simakov hat sich auf seiner zweiten CD zusammen mit dem Pianisten-Duo Mischa Cheung und Yulia Miloslavskaya dem intelligenten, musikalischen Humor als Schnittstelle zwischen den Kompositionen verschrieben – denn der ist beim einstigen ›Klassik-Revoluzzer‹ Friedrich Gulda, dem feinsinnigen Ironiker Sergei Prokofjew und dem weltoffenen französischen Neoklassizisten Francis Poulenc gleichermaßen im Spiel!

Friedrich Gulda hasste nichts so sehr, wie sich auf Rollen festnageln zu lassen. In seinem Concerto for Myself können die skurrilen Wechselbäder zwischen musikalischen Genres – ›E- und U-Musik‹, Wiener Klassik, Popmusik, Barock, Jazz – manchmal laut auflachen lassen. So viel prallt zusammen, was in den wohlgeordneten bürgerlichen Musikschubladen doch meist sauber voneinander getrennt gehört. Da geht es gerade noch in solider Sonatenhauptsatzform der Wiener Klassik voran, dann klinken sich Drumset und E-Bass wie in einer Rockband lautstark ein. Gulda webt ein immer weiter wucherndes, zugleich formal kunstvoll durchstrukturiertes Netz aus Crossover-Bezügen. Schließlich wird die Solokadenz wieder zu dem, für das sie Mozart und Co. ursprünglich vorgesehen haben: Zum freien, improvisatorischen Entfaltungsfeld – in diesem Fall für den Solisten Mischa Cheung.

Sergei Prokofjews musikalischer Humor war bekanntlich aus der Not geboren. Unter der repressiven Sowjet-Kulturdiktatur war es lebenswichtig, ästhetische Wagnisse möglichst hintersinnig zu ›verpacken‹. Prokofjews Erste Symphonie, auch Symphonie classique genannt, zeugt aber kaum von irgendwelcher Auflehnung. Ihre Essenz, welche das Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra hier hellhörig heraus arbeitet, ist vor allem eine Liebeserklärung an den Esprit des 18. Jahrhunderts, in den aber eine tief persönliche, aus dem 20. Jahrhundert kommende Diktion ihres Schöpfers einfließt. Die vorliegende Neuaufnahme durch dieses junge Schweizer Ensemble lädt dazu ein, den gesamten Reichtum von Prokofievs Erster Symphonie kennen zu lernen.
Während in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts erbitterte ästhetische Grabenkämpfe tobten, setzte vor allem Francis Poulenc auf die Einsicht, dass Historie nichts Überwundenes ist, sondern ein fruchtbarer Nährboden für Neues sein kann. Leichtfüßiger und musikantischer als in seinem Konzert für zwei Klaviere lässt sich kaum ein Kaleidoskop aus satztechnischen, harmonischen und rhythmischen Finessen inszenieren. Auch die große weite Welt findet hier in Gestalt eines balinesischen Gamelan-Ensembles zeitgenössischen Widerhall.
Der Pianist Mischa Cheung bringt für das Anliegen dieser CD genug Weltoffenheit mit. Er ist Mitglied des Gershwins Piano Quartetts, das regelmäßig mit gleich vier Konzertflügeln die Bühnen bespielt. Cheung studierte bei Konstantin Scherbakov an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, konzertierte mit dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra. 2016 entwickelte er die Musik für eine Tanzperformance der Choreographin Alexandra Bachzetsis im Auftrag des Museum of Modern Art New York. Er doziert an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und assistiert in der Meisterklasse von Scherbakov. 2019 erhielt er den Kulturpreis des Kantons Basel-Land in der Sparte Musik.

In Francis Poulencs Doppelkonzert übernimmt Yulia Miloslavskaya den ersten Klavierpart. Sie studierte am Moskauer Konservatorium, danach in Zürich, ebenfalls bei Scherbakov. Seitdem bereichert ihre erfrischende Individualität das Konzertleben. Yulia Miloslavskaya ist zudem eine begeisterte Kammermusikerin, die häufig mit Thomas Grossenbacher (Violoncello), Martin Grubinger und Rainer Seegers (Schlagzeug), Ilya Gringolts und Andreas Janke (Violine) zusammenarbeitet.

Das Giraud Ensemble Chamber Orchestra wurde im Jahr 2015 in Zürich gegründet und besticht durch seine hohe Flexibilität: Je nach Anlass tritt es in verschiedenen Formationen vom Quintett bis zum vierzigköpfigen Kammerorchester auf. Die meist jungen Ensemblemitglieder zeigen sich in einem vielfältigen Repertoire vom Barock bis in die Moderne mit allen Wassern gewaschen. Ebenso ist viel Idealismus im Spiel, wenn v.a. weniger bekannten Musikwerken Gehör verschafft wird.

Der Leiter dieses hochmotivierten Ensembles, Sergey Simakov, hat bereits in jungen Jahren viele Erfahrungen sammeln können. Ausgezeichnet mit dem 1. Preis bei der International Conducting Competition Jeunesses Musicales Bucharest, assistierte er bei der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie und war als Assistent des Chefdirigenten Daniel Raiskin bei der Rheinischen Philharmonie Koblenz tätig. 2016 bekam er die Leitung beim Festival ›Oper Oder-Spree‹. Als Gast leitete Sergey Simakov im Jahr 2019 die Produktion von Gaetano Donizettis Lʼelisir dʼamore am Staatstheater Cottbus. Konzertdirigate führten ihn u.a. ans Pult der Stuttgarter Philharmoniker, des Iceland Symphony Orchestra, des Nord Netherlands Symphony Orchestra, des Orchestre Philarmonique de Strasbourg und der Komischen Oper Leipzig. Seit 2012 ist Sergey Simakov Stipendiat des Deutschen Dirigentenforums.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

Oktober 22, 2019