a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Johannes Held | Daniel Beskow

Johannes Held | Daniel Beskow

(Photo:PR)

Baritone Johannes Held and the Swedish pianist Daniel Beskow have been working together for years on Schubert’s Winterreise. With their innovative concept Winterreise staged they brought the work to the limelight in 2014, together with illustrations by Jörn Kaspuhl and directed by Ebbe Knudsen. The visual experience and the performative act allow the audience an enhanced empathy with the intellectual world of Schubert’s protagonists – and they have consistently been enthusiastic about the extraordinary format. Now the two artists return to the beginning, to Schubert’s music and Wilhelm Müller’s texts, and release the Winterreise as a recording.
The Winterreise, Franz Schubert’s “cycle of frightful songs”, is the epitome of romantic song art. In 24 passion-like stations it reflects the impressions of a wanderer disappointed by love on his aimless journey through the landscape marked by winter. Wavering between exuberance and despair, the collection is an expression of longing and existential human pain. But as depressing as the subject may be, so wonderful is the music, so masterful the compositional execution. Schubert finished setting the texts of the Dessau poet Wilhelm Müller to music in 1828, when he found himself, too, in the winter of his life.
Schubert’s cycle has accompanied Johannes Held and Daniel Beskow throughout their entire musical lives. With their encounter the idea of a scenic variant grew – and with their collaboration also the refining of the musical interpretation of the work: “Despite our search for a new format, we have always resolved to remain true to those factors. For that reason, we’ve rehearsed for countless hours over the years. We played back recordings from concerts, and fought and wrestled over every note, every measure, and every word. We’ve discovered how expressive, desperate, and wild – yet also how hopeful, melancholic, and calm, Winterreise can be. Through our work, an interpretation ripened, which we recorded with the sound engineer Franz Schaden near Vienna. This is not our last word on Winterreise. It’s a snapshot in time.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

October 6, 2019

a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Johannes Held | Daniel Beskow

Johannes Held | Daniel Beskow

(Photo:PR)

Bariton Johannes Held und der schwedische Pianist Daniel Beskow arbeiten seit Jahren gemeinsam an Schuberts Winterreise. Mit ihrem innovativen Konzept Winterreise staged haben sie das Werk 2014 auf die Bühne gebracht, zusammen mit Illustrationen von Jörn Kaspuhl und unter der Regie von Ebbe Knudsen. Dem Publikum erlaubt die visuelle Erfahrung und der performative Akt ein verstärktes Einfühlen in die Geisteswelt von Schuberts Protagonisten – und zeigt sich seit jeher von dem außergewöhnlichen Format begeistert. Nun kehren die beiden Künstler zum Anfang zurück, zur Musik von Schubert und den Texten von Wilhelm Müller, und veröffentlichen die Winterreise als Tonträger.
Die Winterreise, Franz Schuberts »Zyklus schauerlicher Lieder«, ist der Inbegriff romantischer Liedkunst. In 24 passionsgleichen Stationen gibt sie die Eindrücke eines von der Liebe enttäuschten Wandersmannes auf seiner ziellosen Reise durch die vom Winter gezeichnete Landschaft wider. Wankend zwischen Überschwang und Verzweiflung, ist die Sammlung Ausdruck von Sehnsucht und existenziellem Menschenschmerz. Doch so bedrückend auch das Sujet, umso wundervoller die Musik, so meisterhaft die kompositorische Ausführung. Schubert beendete die Vertonung der Texte des Dessauer Dichters Wilhelm Müller im Jahr 1828, als er sich selbst im Winter seines Lebens befand.
Schuberts Zyklus begleitet Johannes Held und Daniel Beskow schon ihr ganzes musikalisches Leben. Mit ihrer Begegnung wuchs die Idee einer szenischen Variante – und mit ihrer Zusammenarbeit auch das Feilen an der musikalischen Auslegung des Werkes: »Denn bei aller Suche nach einem neuen Format wollten wir doch immer dem Text treu sein. Und darum haben wir in dieser Zeit auch viele Stunden geprobt, unsere Konzertmitschnitte angehört, gestritten und gerungen um jeden Ton, jeden Takt und jedes Wort. Wir haben entdeckt, wie wild, expressiv, verzweifelt, aber auch hoffnungsvoll, melancholisch und still Schuberts Winterreise ist. Und über die Jahre reifte eine Interpretation, die wir nun in dieser Aufnahme mit Tonmeister Franz Schrader – nahe Wien – festgehalten haben. Sie ist nicht unser letztes Wort zur Winterreise, nur eine Momentaufnahme.«

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

Oktober 6, 2019