a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Stefan Zweig Trio

Stefan Zweig Trio

(Photo: Stefan Zweig Trio)

www.stefanzweigtrio.com

Trio

“ …a group of top prize winners from Japan, Bulgaria and France, showed deep musical knowledge.” (The Strad, 2013)
A visiting card par excellence: On its debut, which is now to be released by ARS Produktion, the Stefan Zweig Trio has committed itself programmatically to its artistic self-image. On the one hand, this is defined according to the character and emotional work of its namesake. On the other hand, the Viennese chamber ensemble thus expresses its affinity to the local musical tradition. The choice of the piano trios by Alexander Zemlinsky and Erich Wolfgang Korngold is thus both a statement and a dramaturgical calculation – two expressive works that were composed in the surroundings of the Viennese Fin de siècle at the turning point to modernity and, true to the dictum ‘tradition and innovation’, unite musical past and future.
After Vienna became the epicentre of classical music in the 18th century, after Schubert death (although of little significance at the time) it became musically quiet around the city. Although three epochal figures – Brahms, Bruckner and Wolff – worked there from the 1860s onwards and half the world danced to the waltzes of Johann Strauß (Sohn), it only attained a status comparable to that of the ‘Viennese Classic’ at the turn of the century, which paved the way for the ‘new’.
Zemlinsky’s Trio in D Minor op. 3, as well as the Trio in D Major op. 1 by his pupil and child prodigy Korngold, reflect this time of upheaval. Both are committed to the classical-romantic traditions and, at the same time, cast their shadows with modern accents and harmonic boldness on the coming avant-garde developments in Vienna.
The Stefan Zweig Trio was founded in 2012 by Sibila Konstantinova, Kei Shirai and Tristan Cornut in Vienna. Its members, trained at renowned European music universities, have won prizes in major international competitions (ARD Music Competition, Melbourne Chamber Music Competition, Sendai Competition). In 2015 the Trio won first prize, a special prize and the audience prize at the International Joseph Haydn Chamber Music Competition in Vienna. The Stefan Zweig Trio made its debut at Wigmore Hall in London in 2015 and performed for the first time at the Vienna Musikverein’s Glass Hall in 2016.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

September 20, 2018

a
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecte adipi. Suspendisse ultrices hendrerit a vitae vel a sodales. Ac lectus vel risus suscipit sit amet hendrerit a venenatis.
12, Some Streeet, 12550 New York, USA
(+44) 871.075.0336
silverscreen@edge-themes.com
Links
Follow Us

Stefan Zweig Trio

Stefan Zweig Trio

(Foto: Stefan Zweig Trio)

www.stefanzweigtrio.com

Trio

» …a group of top prize winners from Japan, Bulgaria and France, showed deep musical knowledge.« (The Strad, 2013)
Eine Visitenkarte par excellence: Das Stefan Zweig Trio hat sich auf seinem Debüt, das nun bei ARS Produktion erscheint, programmatisch ganz dem künstlerischen Selbstverständnis verpflichtet. Dieses definiert sich einerseits gemäß dem charakter- und gefühlsvollen Werk ihres Namenspatrons. Andererseits bringt das Wiener Kammerensemble damit seine Affinität zur hiesigen Musiktradition zum Ausdruck. Die Wahl der Trios von Alexander Zemlinsky und Erich Wolfgang Korngold kommt somit einem Statement gleich und ist ebenso dramaturgisches Kalkül – zwei ausdrucksstarke Werke, die im Umfeld des Wiener Fin de siècle am Wendepunkt zur Moderne entstanden und, treu dem Diktum ›Tradition und Innovation‹, musikalische Vergangenheit und Zukunft in sich vereinen.
Nachdem Wien im 18. Jahrhundert zum Epizentrum der Klassik avancierte, wurde es mit dem Tod Schuberts, obschon zu der Zeit kaum von Bedeutung, in musikalischer Hinsicht eher ruhig um die Stadt. Zwar wirkten dort ab den 1860ern mit Brahms, Bruckner und Wolff drei epochale Gestalten und die halbe Welt tanzte zu den Walzern von Johann Strauß (Sohn) – doch einen mit der ›Wiener Klassik‹ vergleichbaren Stellenwert erlangte sie erst wieder mit der Jahrhundertwende, die den Weg für ›Neues‹ freimachte.
Zemlinskys Trio in d-Moll op. 3 spiegelt ebenso wie das Trio in D-Dur op. 1 von dessen Schüler und Wunderkind Korngold diese Zeit des Umbruchs wider. Beide sind den klassisch-romantischen Traditionen verpflichtet und werfen mit modernen Akzenten und harmonischen Kühnheiten zugleich ihre Schatten auf die kommenden avantgardistischen Entwicklungen in Wien voraus.
Das Stefan Zweig Trio wurde 2012 von Sibila Konstantinova, Kei Shirai und Tristan Cornut in Wien gegründet. Seine an bedeutenden europäischen Musikuniversitäten ausgebildeten Mitglieder gingen als Preisträger aus wichtigen internationalen Wettbewerben (beim ARD-Musikwettbewerb, Melbourne Kammermusikwettbewerb, Sendai Wettbewerb) hervor. 2015 gewann das Trio beim Internationalen Joseph-Haydn-Kammermusikwettbewerb in Wien den Ersten Preis, einen Sonderpreis und den Publikumspreis. 2015 gab das Stefan Zweig Trio sein Debüt in der Wigmore Hall in London und trat 2016 zum ersten Mal im Gläsernen Saal des Musikvereins Wien auf.

Info
Category:

PR

Date:

September 20, 2018